Spring Gardening

Kalen and I spotted this toad in our backyard as we were gardening on the first day of spring.  Kalen named it Jumpy.  This little toad sung to us.


This is a new addition to our gardening in the backyard.  You can see the onions on the right.  Those have been growing for awhile.  It takes a long time for onions to be ready.  Kalen, Brayden and I laid the brick walkway down.  I put up several of our tomato cages to plant our sugar snap peas and our snow peas within and around them.  Those peas love to climb.  Hopefully, when those phase out, we can plant tomatoes there.  I also planted marigold and basil seeds just in front of the cages.  On the left, you will see the bright green romaine plants.

This is a picture taken from my back deck.  You can see the layout of our garden space.

After we put the compost on our garden, we let it sit for several days.  Then, I planted kale and lettuce plants.  Over the past few days, I planted all of our seeds; kale, chard, spinach, collards, lettuce varieties, marigolds, and turnips.  I also planted my darling little seedlings that I had been taking care of inside.  Those seedlings were kale, lettuce, marigolds, and cabbage.  About half of our seedlings were healthy and strong enough to transplant.  So far, so good.

(Daniel and Jen, you would be proud)

I have started these little inside plants from other mama plants we have been growing already.  I bought the aloe at the Farmer’s Market for cheap.  I ended up getting several little aloes within the big mama plant container.


One thought on “Spring Gardening

  1. Daniel Kruidenier says:

    Hey Morrisons,
    the garden looks primed and ready. I can’t wait to see pictures when it is full of good food. The new space looks awesome. Miss yall,
    Daniel

Leave a Reply

