Games

Our family loves games.  I have found within our homeschooling, games are a must.  Playing games with our kids brings a lightheartedness that is needed within our schooling and our relationships.  I have a new found friend and homeschooling hopeful that emailed and asked what games I suggest for the five year old range.  Here is the list I gave her:

Hi Ho Cherry-O
Sequence for Kids
Go Fish
24-50 piece puzzles
Cariboo
Guess Who
DK brand Silly Sentences and Math Puzzles
Pandabo
UNO (a family favorite!)
Memory Games
Chutes and Ladders
CandyLand
Hullabaloo by Cranium (great group game)
Floor (big piece) puzzles
The Ladybug Game by Zobonondo
Quoridor
Connect Four
Hyperdash

Also, really fun for this age . .
Kid K’Nex
Fisher Price’s Creatrix
Melissa and Doug puzzles and art supplies

Then for the older kids I recommend these above as well as:
Checkers
Gobblet
Bananagrams
Battleship
Rummikub
Mancala
Boggle
Othello
Scrabble
Yahtzee

I am totally up for recommendations. Let me know your favorite family games.

One thought on “Games

  1. Thanks for the great list!

    I’m been reading your blog for a long time, but not sure I’ve ever left a comment. I grew up in Wilson, NC, but haven’t lived there for years since my husband is in the military. I love seeing all the pictures and everything from “back home.”

Leave a Reply

