Kind Hearts

I’ll never forget it.  I was lying in bed and I knew it was morning.  I heard the ding of our waffle maker.  Now, this is an extremely odd sound for me to hear just as I am waking.  I threw back the covers and scooted downstairs to see my two little early risers, Julian and Kalen, making waffles.  With mix on their elbows and grins on their faces, they were making breakfast for our family.  After the shock of realizing that my kids were actually cooking and using a hot waffle maker and such, I was able to smile a sweet smile and truly express my joy.

I feel like I hound my kids about being kind.  Like when they argue, fuss or fight, I tend to tell them to be kind.  When they use harsh words or show selfishness, I remind them to be kind.  What a complete surprise it was to see this genuine act of kindness come from them instead of seeing it nagged out of them.

Caregivers, they are watching.  They see the kindness we show them.  Sure, reminding them to be kind is necessary.  However, showing them kindness is stronger than any words we can muster up.

Just in case you are curious, here’s our waffle recipe.Vegan Waffle Mix

Vegan Waffle Mix

(we normally make 5 times this recipe for our family of 6)

1 cup flour
1 cup soymilk
1 Tbsp canola oil
1 Tbsp baking powder
1 T maple syrup

Whisk all ingredients together, pour onto oiled waffle iron and cook on medium.

2 thoughts on “Kind Hearts

  1. Daniel Kruidenier says:

    Those kids are so so sweet. And might I say that Kalen is styling in his light, cool, thrifty, and dare I say fashionable apron with no shirt! I love it,
    Daniel
    PS-As always-Miss you all.

Leave a Reply

