First Day of School

Here’s Julian all set for his first day of fifth grade at Central Park School for Children.  All of our children were bouncing around like little wide-eyed monkeys this morning raring to go to school.  Me, I smiled as best as I could knowing that soon the flood gates would open up just as they did the night before.

Here’s Madelyn all dressed and ready for third grade along with Julian then  Kalen, all set for first grade.  Then there’s Brayden up front.  He got dressed up and packed his bag as well.  He knew he wasn’t going to attend school with the others but, he figured he could at least look the part.

Here they all are packed in the van at 8 am.  Brayden later told me he didn’t think I got him in the picture, that is why he is frowning.

Here they are standing in front of their school at 8:15 am.  Scott, Brayden, and I (with foster baby), walked the three school kids to their classrooms, kissed them goodbye, told them we loved them and headed out.  Yes, I looked back at each of them after I had begun to walk away.  Yes, I had tears streaming down my face.  They were brave and that helped me to be brave.  Letting go is hard.

Scott, seeing my fragile state, took the two little ones and I to a nearby coffee shop to drink coffee and take the morning all in.

At 3:15 pm we all reunited and shared stories about our day.  We have so much to be thankful for.  Now, as they are all tucked away in their beds, I am preparing myself for tomorrow morning’s send off.  As I was putting Kalen to bed, I told him how much I missed him while he was at school.  I asked him if he missed me.  He said, “When it got really busy and it was busy a lot, I would just pretend you were there and that was good.”  Good indeed.

4 thoughts on “First Day of School

  1. Brooke says:

    I thought of you today, Anna, and prayed for you. I knew it would be an emotional day. Glad you’re kiddos did so well!

  2. Kim Freeman says:

    This is breaking my heart! I know you are doing the right thing, we’ve actually started talking about the time when we will send our kids to school, but I don’t think it will ever be easy. Hang in there! Not sure when it will get easier, but I am certain it will.

  3. Amanda says:

    Oh, Anna they look so happy & so precious! I have thot of you so much this week. Eases my heart to see these pic’s. Your transitioning well, my friend. I love you!

Leave a Reply

