Philly and Back

Scott took me away this past weekend.  It was a planned getaway to a city that we’d been wanting to visit.  Mom and Annette met me and the kids half way in between our houses last Wednesday and took the kids so Scott and I could have a weekend to ourselves.  The tickets were bought, the hotel reserved, a weekend away was awaiting us.

We boarded a plane to Philadelphia on Thursday.  I was so nervous, even scared.  It was my second time flying (yes, ever).  Scott was so good with me.  He and the promise of a fun and romantic weekend away got me through and I actually lived through the flight.  🙂

We spent Thursday through Sunday just living and enjoying in the big city of Philadelphia.  For a small town girl, this was big time.  I couldn’t believe the size of the buildings and the beauty of city life.  It was breathtaking.  The sights, the sounds, the smells, and the people were so captivating.  I could not have been more happy.

If you didn’t know, Philadelphia is a very veg-friendly city.  I had read about it a year or so ago in a VegNews magazine.  Scott took a trip to Philly for a conference a couple of years ago and scouted out the city for us.  As a result of his experience and good searching, we were able to enjoy delicious vegan food the entire weekend.  The dishes and desserts we devoured were out of this world.  Some of the restaurants we visited were Horizons, Mi Lah Vegetarian, Philly Cupcake, Marathon Grill, and Maoz Vegetarian.

About a day into our extended weekend away, I was able to relax, let my guard down and savor this time with Scott.  We have so much to be thankful for within our marriage and family.  We truly celebrated that and just had fun together.

The flight home was much easier for me.  I loved our Philly experience.  I feel refreshed.  Seeing the four little faces of our children as they ran to the door to greet us was wonderful.

Thanks, Mom and Annette, for caring for our precious children.

Scott, thanks for taking me on a trip that I won’t ever forget. You are such a fun traveling buddy. I am so glad you’re mine.

3 thoughts on “Philly and Back

  1. Anna,
    Reading and catching up in the blog world today and amazed by all you are doing, changes in your life, the beauty of it all…wow! You inspire me and your courage is incredible. We moved to NYC last month and I am really wanting to take a trip to Philly this year with the kids (so much history!) Thanks for sharing…I so appreciate your heart and I’m so glad you had time away with your honey 🙂

  2. Gretchen says:

    I love Philadelphia! We took the kids there while we were in DC this summer. Were you able to visit Independence Hall? It is such a great place to experience our early American history. It sounds like you had a wonderful time with your hubby, and the food sounds so yummy. Good for you…you both deserve it!

Leave a Reply

