Surf City

This past weekend we had the amazing opportunity to meet three other families for an extended weekend away in Surf City, NC.  Altogether, there were eighteen of us.  I can’t possibly communicate effectively how wonderful this experience was.  The weather was simply delightful.  The multi-level beach house was super nice and just what we needed to house so many families.  We made all vegan meals and the food was absolutely wonderful!

Our time together was extremely enjoyable.  I love the beach.  It is not difficult for me to have a good time there.  However, our weekend in Surf City was unique.  We had never vacationed with friends in this way.  It was so delightful learning that it is possible, truly doable and something I want to make a habit of doing.  I felt immersed in a community of people living purposefully and totally present within this shared time together.  I loved watching our ten children laugh, play, and live so closely with one another.  I was able to let my hair down and soak up some sun, good conversation and quality time with friends as I kept an eye on our children frolicking with abandon on the beach.  I’m telling you, the richness of this vacation we had is beyond words.

If the pictures seem too good to be true, I promise you I was there and lived this dreamy weekend.  To the Kruidenier, Aardema, and Bulluck families- we are so thankful for each of you!  Thank you for allowing us to share such an amazing time together with you all.  Let’s do this again and again.

Just to clear up any confusion, the boys found these fish on the beach.  They had just washed up and were already dead.  We figure they had been tossed from the pier.  Kind of sad, I think.  Our boys enjoyed holding them and paid attention to all the details of these interesting fish.  Kalen really wanted to bring his home.  Um, I don’t think so.  Oh and yes, we made them wash their hands when they were done.

Kalen found this little guy in the very shallow water.  The fish seemed to be injured and swimming around upside down.  Kalen put water in a bucket and watched him for hours.  He wanted to keep this one as well.  We finally convinced him that this fish needed to go back to his home in the ocean.  Kalen was quite torn up about parting with it.

 

6 thoughts on “Surf City

  1. Lesley Bulluck says:

    What wonderful words and images to capture a truly beautiful time. It was amazing to spend this time with you and your family – I can’t wait to do it again next year!

  2. Laurie says:

    what great pictures! I love the one under the pier!! glad you had a great getaway with friends..enjoy your upcoming weekend retreat at the beach:-)!

  3. jane says:

    Hi Anna,
    My name is Jane and I’m with Dwellable.
    I was looking for blogs about Surf City to share on our site and I came across your post…If you’re open to it, shoot me an email at jane(at)dwellable(dot)com.
    Hope to hear from you soon!
    Jane

Leave a Reply

