Quote, Book and Radically Following Christ

Let my heart be broken by the things that break the heart of God.”
-Bob Pierce

I am reading The Hole In Our Gospel by Richard Stearns.  I have found the quote above several times within the text.  It is a good taste of what this reading is about.  I am reading this book weekly and discussing it with a group at my church on Wednesday nights.  I have found the readings very thought-provoking.  I have felt many nudges throughout the past few weeks.

A summary of the book from website:
This is a story of how a CEO faced his own struggle to obey God, whatever the cost, and his passionate call for Christians to change the world by actively living out their faith. Believing that the “good news” is more than a private transaction between God and us, Stearns challenges readers with this question: What does God expect of us? Two thousand years ago, twelve people changed the world. Stearns believes it can happen again.

I am trying to wrap my mind around the many stories and challenges presented in this book.  I am rereading scripture with different eyes and I am grappling with questions like “what does it REALLY look like to follow Christ.”

I just read a chapter today about the importance of faith and works lived out together.  It is so easy to have one without the other.

Another book review comment:

Rich Stearns calls us to exhilarating obedience to God’s life-altering, world-changing command to reflect his love to our neighbors at home and globally. The Hole in Our Gospel is imbued with the hope of what is possible when God’s people are transformed to live radically in light of his great love.” —-Gary Haugen, President & CEO, International Justice Mission

Leave a Reply

