Vegan Pumpkin Bread

This recipe comes from Sarah Kramer’s La Dolce Vegan! cookbook.  Her cookbooks are by far my favorite resources for good doable vegan recipes.  This recipe makes 2 loaves, so you can use up a whole can of pumpkin and not have any waste, but you can also easily cut the recipe in half.  This week, I used my mini loaf pan and a 9-inch one to bake my bread.  I attended a Fashion Swap and took this bread to share.  I received several positive reviews, see what you think.

Pumpkin Bread

Ingredients:

2 cups of sugar

1/2 cup oil ( I use canola)

1/2 cup applesauce

* egg replacer to equal 3 eggs (see bottom for suggestions)

1 14-oz (397-ml) can unsweetened pumpkin puree

3 cups flour

1 tsp ground cloves

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp ground nutmeg

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt ( I use sea salt)

1 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped

1 cup vegan dark chocolate chips (optional)

How To:

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Lightly oil 2 9-inch loaf pans and set aside.  In a large bowl, stir together the sugar, oil, applesauce, egg replacer, and pumpkin.  In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, and salt.  Stir gently into pumpkin until it’s “just mixed.”  Stir in the walnuts and chocolate chips and spoon dough equally into 2 loaf pans.  Bake for 55-60 minutes or until a toothpick or knife comes out clean.  Let cool for 10-15 minutes before removing from pan.  Makes 2 loaves.

*Here are some egg replacer options:

1 tablespoon cornstarch + 3 tbsp of warm (water whisked together) = 1 egg

1 1/2 tsp Ener-G Powdered Egg Replacer (from Whole Foods or health food store) + 2 tbsp warm water mixed well= 1 egg

1/2 banana, blended or well mashed = 1 egg

3 tbsp apple sauce

~ I have to say I use the top two options whenever substituting

3 thoughts on “Vegan Pumpkin Bread

  1. Hey Anna!
    Have you ever tried flax gel for an egg replacement? 1Tbsp ground flax whisked w/ 3Tbsp warm water. We eat eggs, but I have used this in baked goods when I am running low on eggs, and I think it worked great! I saw this idea in the Living Without magazine.
    Melanie

Leave a Reply

