Uniqueness

“Today you are You, that is truer than true.  There is no one alive who is Youer than You.” – Dr. Seuss.

She sat there with a certain twinkle in her eye.  Her outfit, picked with purpose and joy, shining for all to see . . .”I’m different,” it seemed to say.  She sipped on a sweet lemonade.  Her confidence glowing.  I stared with a sense of awe.  Her uniqueness was clear and present.  She wasn’t trying too hard.  She was comfortable.  She was herself.

May our children know they are loved and that they are unique.  As parents, I pray to foster that sense of self and cheer them on daily.

4 thoughts on “Uniqueness

  1. Julie says:

    Especially important for a girl in this day and age. You two do such a great job of celebrating the individuality of your children. Blessings!

  2. Melissa says:

    I love this! My Ashley is so like this. And I keep wondering where are all the other kids that put outfits together on their own. I have to bite my tongue and tell myself that this is her–expressing who she. By the way, Ashley was just diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes and we have had a rough month. We are doing the best we can adjusting to her new life of 4 finger pricks and 4-5 insulin shots a day that will be with her for the rest of her life. Keep us in your prayers–she is being such a trooper. Miss you. Love keeping up with you all in your blog.

    • Melissa, so good to hear from you today. Yes, Ashley is a colorful sweet girl. It is beautiful how you allow her to shine the way you do. She feels free to be herself.

      I am so sorry about the diagnosis, how disheartening. She is a trooper, for sure. I will say a special prayer for your family today as you continue to deal with this day in and day out. I am so sorry. You are a fabulous mother, Melissa. Keep your chin up. Much love to you and yours . . .

Leave a Reply

