BFF

I remember in middle school and high school how easily I wrote down the letters BFF (Best Friends Forever).  It was an endearing way to relate to my closest of  friends.  I meant well, but I didn’t know the depth behind the meaning of placing this label on any of my friendships.  Some of those friendships have survived the passing of time, others have faded.

Lately I have reflected on my friendship with my husband and the love we share.  He is truly my best friend.  He makes me laugh.  He loves all of me.  We have a history.  He is an incredible partner in life.  He protects me.  He is extremely talented.  He makes me want to live outside of the box.  He spurs me on.  He cares for me.  He tells me everything is going to be alright” at exactly the perfect moment.  My best friend is a wonderful father to our kids and values family life.  He is thoughtful and compassionate.  He helps me.  In fourteen years we have grown so much, leaning into one another instead of pushing each other away.  I enjoy him.  I want to be with him.  I delight in him.  I care for him.  He holds my heart.  Our friendship will last forever.  For all these reasons and more, I am thankful for my best friend, my Valentine.

Leave a Reply

