Happy Hands

I was feeding our foster baby girl today with no one else around.  There were sweet sounds of our kids playing on the trampoline and music playing from Pandora.  It was just her and me.  She loves crackers, and she wanted more.  I’ve been teaching her some sign language, and out of the blue I see her sign “more.”  My heart skipped a beat, my eyes popped, and I squealed with delighted.  I think I scared her for a moment!  I was elated to see something so tangible that I had taught her.  She laughed and smiled with all the cuteness that she possesses, and I just continued to melt.  Of course, I gave her more crackers, and she continued to show me her new trick.  She is such a happy girl.

Each day of fostering seems a little different from the day before.  The reality and seriousness of this little lady’s future is unknown.  When I spend time with her I see so much potential.  I see her willingness to listen, to learn new things.  Her smile is so bright.  I want so much for this little girl.

Just like every night, tonight I took off her day clothes and dirty diaper, then put her special lotion all over her burned areas.  She and I trade smiles this whole time.  I picked out some warm pajamas and suited her up.  I brought her to me and led her to her and Maddie’s room.  We read a book and then cuddled while I hummed and rocked her for a few minutes.  I laid her in her crib and draped the pink blanket, a gift from my grandma, over her.  I touched her nose with my finger, winked, and told her that I loved her (like I always do).  Tonight I decided to blow her a kiss as I was leaving the room.  She blew me one right back.  As she was releasing her precious little hand from her lips to blow that kiss, she made the sound I always do, “mmmwah.”

5 thoughts on “Happy Hands

  1. Laurie says:

    Ok so how precious is that sweet thing! I look froward to meeting this cutie pie someday…thanks for your text….it meant a lot. Anna, you are doing an amazing job loving this little one so selflessly. I commend you! Love you bunches!

  2. Julie says:

    Oh! I’m swooning! This is so, so precious. You truly are making a life changing difference. She is fortunate to have someone who sees her potential.

  3. jennifer says:

    Wow, what a joy. So awesome to be part of that, you are probably her angel. She is a lucky girl. You make me want to foster such an inspiration 🙂

  4. Kim Freeman says:

    I was just talking with Mitch about yours and Scott’s decision to foster today. It really has spurred me on to consider how we can minister to orphans one day. Thanks for sharing your testimony and being faithful to follow our Lord’s commands.

Leave a Reply

