Finding a Rhythm

11, 9, 7, 4, 2 & 1. These are the ages of our children.  Indeed there is chaos, sometimes, within our home.  The dust is settling a bit from taking in our newest little one.  Fostering children shakes up the flow of our home until a new rhythm is discovered that suits us and is maintained.  I will be glad to find that new flow.

This weekend we changed up our kids’ rooming situations to make everyone more comfortable.  Furniture has been moved, clothes are in the wrong rooms, toys are needing new homes, and in the meantime . . . we get to live in the mess.  We knew this would be messy.  Whew.  Change has come.

Our baby girl grabbed my face as I leaned into her after changing her diaper this evening.  She pressed her face into mine and wrapped her whole body around my top half.  She puckered her lips and kept planting hard kisses on my lips.  With the rest of that room in a mess behind my feet, I embraced the goodness of that moment.  She needs me.  She loves me.  Who cares what the house looks like.  Her smile was bright, full, happy and confident.

The rhythm to our days will come.

4 thoughts on “Finding a Rhythm

  1. Claire says:

    Wow, you are one busy lady! It’s amazing to see how God works. I pray that these little ones are blessed by their time in your own, and that your family is in turn blessed by their presence. They sound like little sweeties.

  2. Julie says:

    Oh my heavenly days!!! LOVE! I was thinking of you this morning when I was doing speech therapy with a little just 2-year-old at one of my daycares. He was sitting on my lap and I was reading with him…and I thought, “if only he could have this all the time, what a difference it would make in this little life.” The lap sitting and the book reading, and the togetherness, you know? You’ve got those precious moments, too, with a little one that’s had a rough start. I know you treasure those sweet kisses with her!

Leave a Reply

