Digging for Gold

Yep, found this tiny Lego piece in our foster little boy’s nose.  I was laying him down for a diaper change and was shocked to see a gold something or another wedged in his nose.  It was high enough to not be hanging out, but not high enough for us to rush to the ER.  Scott held him down and I performed the dirty work.  That little stinker.

We have never had a kid to put something up their nose.  It was quite shocking.  I looked at him and thought to myself, you stinker, what in the world would you do that for? And when did you do this?   Of course, when it was all said and done and we were not on our way to the hospital, I did chuckle a little to myself.

This was a great teaching moment for our children.  Scott held the little two kids and I marched downstairs with tweezers in hand and showed our children the snotty little Lego piece.  I told them, in a very stern mommy voice of course, that they need to be careful about what they leave lying around.  I then went on to talk to them about being responsible about picking up after themselves when they are done playing with something.  With big eyes, they all showed they agreed with what I was saying.  Brayden even asked if our little boy had cried a lot.  I laid it on thick and assured him he had (wink, wink).

Raising kids is so detail oriented.  Really, I have to make sure they don’t stick stuff up their noses?  We must be watchful, as parents.  We must watch to make sure the door is closed so the little ones won’t  sneak out.  We watch to make sure the bathroom door is closed, so the one year old doesn’t play in the toilet water or the two-year old doesn’t pull the paper off the roll.  We watch to make sure our big kids walk safely across the street to get the mail.  We watch, like hawks, when we are at the pool, making sure all little ones have heads above the water.  We watch and watch.  I feel like a safekeeper.  They are worth it though.  They need us.

 

2 thoughts on “Digging for Gold

  1. Julie says:

    We have a bazillion of those little lego pieces lying around our house, and the worst thing I have to worry about is vacuuming them up. I can’t imagine what it’s like with two little ones to watch out for. I know your older ones will help to be responsible. We’ve never had nose stuffers either, but there was the one time that Matthew swallowed a thumbtack (push pin variety) during his (supposed) nap. That did necessitate an ER visit… 🙂

  2. Hey Anna! I’ll never forget the time Ethan had a raisin stuck up his nose. He was 2 years old, and kept saying his nose hurt. I couldn’t see the raisin for a while b/c it’s dark in color, but I finally did get it out. I imagine that must have been pretty uncomfortable!
    I saw your pictures of your daughter’s art party. Sydney has her 8th bday this month, and I know she’d love a party like that. Can you email me more about it?
    BTW- you & Scott should eat at Willow’s Cafe (next to Children’s Museum on Liberty) next time you are in W-S. We ate the most amazing vegan chocolate cheesecake for dessert, and they were so willing to cater to our gf/cf diet for dinner. You’d love it!

Leave a Reply

