Baking with Our Kids

One of the things I love most about being home with our kids has always been cooking and baking with them.  I love when they are able to help out in the kitchen.  Before I go on, of course, I must admit that some days I decline offers of help in the kitchen, because sometimes I just need some space.  That aside, our kids and I enjoy being around food together.  It is amazing the types of conversations, sound effects and laughter that can come from a food preparation episode in the kitchen with kids.

Lately, with six kids underfoot, I have opted out of the whole cook with your kids scene.  Call me crazy, but tater tots, canned green beans and tofu dogs are pretty easy for one person to prepare.  Yep, we have had to go super easy with meal planning around here.

Scott’s birthday was at the end of June and I was not able to bake him the special cake I had in mind.  Life is just so constant these days caring for our children, and a store-bought vegan cupcake was just easier.  (I almost gasped as I typed that.)  See, I have been on a journey of letting go as of late.  Sometimes it is not easy for me to admit my limits and throw up my hands surrendering to the reality of the moment.  I don’t know when it was, along my journey of life, that I thought perfectionism was the key to a life of satisfaction and success.  Boy have I hit a wall the past few months in realizing my limits.

With all laundry folded this morning and our littlest one napping,  I started gathering children to the kitchen and pulling out ingredients for our Sweet Potato Cake with Spiced Buttered Rum Glaze. Yes, I will have to admit I was holding my breath a bit, waiting for a break down or catastrophe of some sort.  I decided to be hopeful and adventurous, determined to have a mommy moment with my kids on this day.  One of our friends had given us some of this cake awhile back and Scott (and our entire family) loved it.  I had been itching to make it.  I got Brayden and our little foster guy busy with Play-Doh and the rest of us went to the task of making this yummy cake.  Here’s the recipe and some pics of our adventures in baking from today.  I highly recommend (as often as you can tolerate it) cooking with your kids.  There will be more mess, but lots of laughter, full hearts and smiles to go along with it.

Sweet Potato Bundt Cake with Spiced Buttered Rum Glaze (yes, it’s vegan!)

For the batter:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked sweet potato meat (about 2 sweet potatoes)
  • 3 eggs ***(I use 6 tbsp of coconut milk and 3 tbsp of corn starch whisked)
  • 3/4 cup warm water
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 c craisins or golden raisins
  • 1 c shredded coconut

For the glaze:

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter*** (I use the Earth Balance Buttery Spread)
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons rum
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar

Directions

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

Lightly grease a 10-cup bundt pan.

In a mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Set the mixture aside. In a separate large mixing bowl, mash the sweet potato, leaving only a slight meaty texture. Whisk together the sweet potato and the “eggs”. Whisk in the warm water, then the sugar, then the oil followed by the vanilla extract.  *** (I put all the wet ingredients in my blender. I then add the blended ingredients to the dry in my mixer.) Stir in the dry ingredients until homogenous then fold in raisins and pecans/walnuts. Spoon the batter into the prepared bundt pan. Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean, about 1 hour. Let the cake cool in the tin for 15 minutes and invert onto a serving platter or cake stand.

Meanwhile, make the glaze:

Melt the “butter” in a medium saucepan with the rum. Pull from the heat and whisk in the confectioners’ sugar until smooth.

Pour the glaze over the cooled cake. Slice and serve.

Enjoy!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Baking with Our Kids

  1. Leah says:

    Praying for you and your beautiful little family! Where did you get those awesome mixing bowls? And who is that beautiful girl, she looks so grown up! Leah

Leave a Reply

