Brady’s First Day of Kindergarten

Today was a big day for Brayden Kenneth (and a big day for mama).  He started Kindergarten!

Here’s Brady wearing his nervous face.  We had just arrived just outside his class.  His teacher had showed him his hook.  Isn’t he cute?

 

After Brayden talked with his teacher and she showed him around, he went straight for the play-dough. Many of his fellow classmates were still coming in.  He is still wearing his happy-nervous face in this photo.

Brayden drew this for me the day before yesterday.  Little did I know that I would be clinging to it for the entire three hours he was at school this morning.  It was an emotional day for me.  I was happy, excited, sad, scared, worried, and just plain torn up.  This is normal right?  I cried all the way home from school this morning and was sniffing for much of the day.  I was comforted by the fact that he has an amazing teacher, his big brother Kalen’s class is next door, his very protective and caring sister’s classroom is right above his, and the school is so cool.  I am thankful Brayden has the opportunity to give this a go.  My heart breaks a little thinking about how I am letting go a bit.  Letting go is hard.  When I picked up Brayden and we had a back and forth for a few minutes, he asked me if I cried.  I told him I totally did!  He told me to be okay tomorrow.  He said it would be okay.  Don’t we all just want to be told that sometimes?

Brayden said it was a thumbs up day at school.  This made me smile so much.  I loved hearing about the details of his morning.  He will have another half day tomorrow and start full days next week.

First kindergarten painting

Special treat for such a big day

2 thoughts on “Brady’s First Day of Kindergarten

  1. Crazy how big our kids are getting and how quickly they grow. Amazing and sad huh? Brady looks identical to you. He’s so cute. All of your kids are beautiful. Good job momma on your mommy skills. I have no idea how you have the energy. There is not enough coffee in the world for me to walk a day in your shoes, that’s for sure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

