Simple Things

Julian and I took our foster kids and Jasper out after lunch today.

The sun was shining bright. Julian began playing with the two little ones on the trampoline. Jasper was running around wild and free in our fenced in backyard.

I sat on one our kiddie slides, took a deep breath in and looked up into the October blue sky above me. Just as I was noticing how incredibly blue the sky was, a beautiful orange Monarch butterfly flew above me. I could only see it and the blue sky above it. It fluttered so slowly. I smiled. A thought emerged. Taking time to enjoy the simple things can be so delightful and life giving.

Thanks, God, for the little things. May I breathe deeply today and smile easily.

One thought on “Simple Things

Leave a Reply

