Room Time Mishap

Scott called from upstairs, “Anna, come now!  You have to see this!”  Then at the top of the steps he tells me we can either get really mad or laugh hysterically.  I cover my mouth and walk heavy footed to our foster children’s room.

I peered into the room to find M & S covered in Vaseline.  The jelly was mostly in their hair.  Of course, the container they got into was the biggest one that the company makes.

Years ago when we started having little ones, we established what we call “room time.”  I baby-proof the room and allow for little ones as young as one year old to have playtime in their room without anyone supervising.  This time allows me to take a shower, make a meal, check email or just breathe.  Room time for kids can prove that they don’t have to be entertained by others, but can actually enjoy playing in their own space independently.

On this particular day last week, evidently our little two wanted to entertain themselves in a new, creative way.  The Vaseline was so thick and there was just so much!  A part of me wanted to laugh.  I did grin a little, but mostly I was frustrated.

I struggle a little anyways caring for our two foster children’s hair.  I have done online research, spoken with numerous friends and hair stylists, bought a lot of products, and watched tutorials on YouTube on how to care for M & S’s hair.  I care greatly about helping them to be their best.  I am still learning how to cater to their hair, which is so different than my own.  Just last night I was watching a You Tube clip from a gal provides tutorials.  (You can check out her website here.)  I watched and learned how to do tiny twists.

So, adding a whole lot of Vaseline to hair that I have not learned how to care for totally was quite difficult.

(Side note: I have to say that I love, love, love these foster children.  I also love their hair.  I am just admitting to my inability to fully nail down the treatment and upkeep of hair so different than my own.  I will continue to learn and give myself grace concerning this (daily).)

Back to the room time incident . . .  I thought I had removed all things that would be a temptation to get into.  Our two year old is pretty low key, but our little girl that is one is quite curious and busy (that is putting it really nicely).  I usually put the diaper trashcan way up high on a set of drawers, and I remove wipes and diapers from the room.  I take out lotions and definitely cover electrical sockets with those baby proof covers.  Silly me, I totally missed the huge Vaseline container in the far back corner of the top drawer of the changing table.

Just so you know, the Vaseline has worked itself out.  I did Google our little problem and found many helpful hints.  Room time is still a daily must have even after such a messy lesson learned.

Hair is a common topic in our home.  Scott and I have just gotten our hands on Good Hair, a documentary by Chris Rock.  I imagine it will be a source of comic relief, as well as an awareness into the topic of hair and how extremely important it can be.

5 thoughts on “Room Time Mishap

  1. Didn’t Brayden get into vaseline when he was about that age? Or was it some other tube of something else. I remember another blog about this a few years ago! Good luck with the hair. Sounds like quite a challenge. It’s hard enough for me to keep my girls thick long hair brushed and clean. I can only imagine what you are trying to do!

    love you,
    jen

    • Yes! Kalen was two when he got into the vaseline. He put it on his face. In Boone we use to use it a little to keep the chill off our faces, he must have thought he could do that on his own. That was a messy one as well. 🙂

  2. Claire says:

    Oh my goodness! I would hate to clean that up. Toddlers are so funny, even if you need a few days to recover before you can laugh,

  3. In looking around on other foster parents’ blogs, someone had linked to this site: http://www.chocolatehairvanillacare.com/ If nothing else, she does some amazing work with her daughter’s hair – perhaps you’ll find some helpful tips and ideas there as well? I like the “Room Time” idea as well – it is a vital skill to be able to entertain yourself (vital for both child and for mama’s sanity!). You’re doing great!

Leave a Reply

