Knowing When

On a particularly busy evening, in a particularly tense moment, Madelyn scooted away to make me this.

I was stressed.  Oh yes, I get that way from time to time.  I may appear like I have it all together sometimes, or that I am cool as a cucumber, but I can often get strung out and maxed out.

Madelyn noticed the struggle I was experiencing and knew how to love me in that moment.  She didn’t say a word; she just placed this gorgeous little gift of love on the counter right behind me.  She knew I would turn and see it.  She knew when to step in and love.  Of course the minute I saw it, my shoulders went down.  I smiled an effortless smile.  I felt loved.  Even in a fussy moment when I was not shining so bright, she chose to love and affirm.

Thanks, Maddie.  You inspire me to love unconditionally.

3 thoughts on “Knowing When

  1. What a sweet girl! She learned that by watching you…that’s the kind of person you are. You are so observant and caring for other people and you know just what to do to make everyone else feel better. What a gift for a mother. You should give yourself a big pat on the back for that one. She is following your consistent example as a wonderfully nurturing and compassionate person.
    love, jen

  2. Lesley Bulluck says:

    Jen, you are so right. Anna, you are an inspiration. Keep smiling and loving and you will find that love coming back to you. I really like your new header photo and room time mishap post….that happy hair website was a real find!

    Thinking of you guys.

    Love, Les

Leave a Reply

