This Little Light of Mine

This Little Light of Mine is a song that I used to sing as a child at my church.  I have always loved it and have enjoyed singing it with our kids throughout the years.  It has been fun to teach it to our foster children and watch them raise their little pointer fingers as they sing along.

Our family went to a candlelight service at our church on Christmas Eve.  The picture above captures a sweet moment when the entire congregation was holding their lit candles.  I enjoyed watching our children hold their candles.  Staring at the reflecting light on their faces made me think of the song This Little Light of Mine.

It can be difficult to be a light throughout daily tasks, moods, and disturbances.  Sometimes as a wife and mama to six kids and a dog I feel completely burned out.  Just now, I sit here with a tooth problem that won’t soon be fixed, and when it is it won’t be cheap.  It is definitely clouding my world, causing my patience to be low and consuming my every other thought.  And yet, when I think of that moment when our precious children sat in that pew on Saturday night and allowed their candles to shine brightly in our dark sanctuary, I feel a nudge to pick my chin up and at least try to smile.

When our foster baby girl sings This Little Light of Mine with me, she puts her finger in the air and closes her eyes and puts her chin up as she smiles wildly.  I can’t help but giggle, grin and be filled with joy.

There will always be people and tragedies in our lives that will dim our lights.  When my light is not shining very brightly, I think about our foster daughter.  Despite the early childhood trauma she has experienced, she still shines so brightly.

2 thoughts on “This Little Light of Mine

  1. Amen to all of that, Anna. I completely agree, and I only have two little munchkins in my home! Our ministries are our familes, but sometimes it’s really hard to remember that I am teaching my kids about a relationship with Christ in their relationship with me, you know?

Leave a Reply

