2011: Year in Review

The little ones are napping and the rest of my family is busy doing this and that outside on this oddly warmish December day.  My mind is full of thoughts about our 2011.  It was quite an eventful and memorable year…

We picked up our foster baby girl from the burn unit at UNC hospital and began caring for her in our home.

We went camping with our best friends plus our foster baby girl at Hunting Island, SC.

Samirah’s brother joined our family unexpectedly.  We became a family of eight.

In the spring, our kids turned 11, 9, 7 and 5.

Madelyn, Kalen and Julian complete their first full year of school outside of our home.

We got to experience another summer at the pool.

Scott worked two teaching jobs, providing us money throughout the summer.

We gave up gardening for awhile in order to better meet the needs of our growing family.

We took all our kids to the beach to celebrate the Fourth of July with my Dad’s side of the family.

The kids started school: Brayden started Kindergarden at Central Park!

Three of our kids played soccer.  Maddie scored more than she ever had, 12 goals (I think).

We got our first family pet in September, our Pomapoo Jasper.

I weathered several months of hardship during our fostering experience and continued to face uncertainties regarding M & S’s permanency plan.

A foxy lady and Olive Oyl took Mario, a Cat, Mad Scientist, Dragon, Tigger and little girl trick-or-treating.

We took our annual October vacation to the beach with three families from SC and VA.  This year we headed to Emerald Isle.

I started really wanting to write more.

Celebrated our foster baby girl’s 2nd birthday.

Scott finished teaching his fall semester at UNC.  Now he can center in on writing and researching for his dissertation and completing his last year at Carolina obtaining his PhD!

Celebrated 13 years of marriage.

Enjoyed a Christmas season we won’t soon forget with our two foster kids.

A lot of growth has come out of this year, including a lot of stories I could tell about hardship, growth, mishaps, milestones, fun and family.  When I step back and think of it all, I don’t have any regrets.  I look upon our year with gratitude, lessons learned and a smile.  I am quite thankful.

2 thoughts on “2011: Year in Review

  1. Judy Delp says:

    Hello Anna,
    I just wanted to let you know that I have followed your blog ever since Todd told me about it about 2 years ago and I just enjoy it so much. You have such a beautiful family and I so admire that you and Scott are foster parents along with all the demands of life and four children of your own. I love all your photos, reading about all your family adventures, your recipes, and I just love your spirit, love, energy, teaching, and giving through living such a dedicated christian life. I wish for you and your family a wonderfully blessed “2012”!
    Judy Delp

    • Judy, so good to hear from you. I appreciate your words so much. It means a lot that you’ve tuned in from time to time keeping up with me (us). I hope all is well with your family. Thanks so much for connecting with me.

      Love,
      Anna

Leave a Reply

