He is Three and Yella Cupcakes

Our little boy turned three on Sunday!  We celebrated with many fun activities and some vanilla cupcakes.  He was so happy and loved all the special attention given.  I had been practicing with him prior to his special day to put up three fingers when someone says, “How old are you?”  He nailed it down and here he is proudly…

I could have cried at the drop of a hat on the birthdays of our foster kids.  Birthdays have always meant so much to me.  My mom always made a big deal out of them, and I always felt really special when I turned over another year.  There would be streamers sometimes, presents, a cake, cards, balloons and I could always count on extra smiles from mom.  Being the “fill-in mom” for a kid’s birthday is a big deal to me.  Not just because of my own history, but because celebrating an individual’s own unique life is such a treat, an honor.  Our foster kids have lived through so much in their short little lives.  They are little survivors and visions of hope.  We know that they felt extremely loved on their special days.  I have to believe that is the biggest birthday gift we could give them.

I really love making Sarah Kramer’s Yella Cake recipe for cupcakes.  I think any non-vegan would love them, hands down.

Yella Cake

3/4 c sugar

1/4 c vegan margarine (I use Earth Balance sticks)

egg replacer to equal one egg (I use 1 tbsp cornstarch whisked together with 2 tbsp of soymilk or other non-dairy milk)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 c flour

1 1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 c “milk”

Preheat oven to 350.  Lightly oil a 9-inch round cake pan and set aside.  In a large bowl, cream together the sugar, margarine, egg replacer, and vanilla.  Add the flour, baking powder, salt and “milk” and stir together gently until “just mixed.”  Spread evenly into cake pan and bake for 30-35 minutes, or until a toothpick or knife comes out clean.  Let cool for 10-15 minutes, or until a toothpick or knife comes out clean.  Let cool for 10-15 minutes before removing from pan.  Cool completely before frosting.  Makes 1 cake.

*Cut down on baking time if you are trying cupcakes with this recipe.  I check them often because they can get dry quickly.

*This recipe can easily be doubled and baked in two separate cake tins or a 9×13 pan.

I use Cherrybrook Kitchen’s Vanilla Frosting for my vanilla cupcakes.  It turns out thick and perfect every time.  I get this at our Whole Foods, but I have seen it at Kroger and even Target.

One thought on “He is Three and Yella Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

