Update

 

Our foster kids are staying with us indefinitely.  The kinship placement fell through.  It was disappointing and yet okay.  We have had a lot of feelings swirling around within us regarding our foster kids’ transitions.  We were preparing for them to leave in early May.  What a roller coaster ride this year of fostering has been.  The past few weeks have been no exception.  We are sure of one thing today, we are privileged to care for them.  They are happy here.  Knowing that we have been their consistent home, feels really good.  It is difficult not knowing what lies ahead.  We have learned the hard way that we must remain extremely flexible and open.

I have been substituting more and more.  I really like it.  I have filled in for Kindergarten on up to 5th grade.  Today and tomorrow I have the opportunity to fill in for a fourth grade teacher.  Before substituting at my kids’ school, I get to shadow the teachers that I am filling in for.  It has been very inspiring to watch these teachers do what they do.  I have learned a lot and will continue to do so.  For now, it is nice to get out of the house and do something different, earn some money, and see my kids during the day.

Scott has been taking Julian with him more this week.  I have been doing most of Julian’s homeschooling up until this substituting opportunity presented itself.  Scott has continued to work along side me to help keep things running for our family.

Sadly, my grandmother is sick in the hospital.  Honestly, my heart is not here today, it is there with her.  I love her so much and I can’t get her out of my mind.  I do hope she recovers soon and returns to her comforts within her cozy home.

Today, Madelyn took off early with her class on a two day field trip to the beach.  They are studying lighthouses and they get to camp right under one tonight!  How cool is that?  Scott was a trooper and got up with her at 5am this morning to get her to school super early.  She was so cute and excited.  Scott was able to take a 6am spin class, so I guess he benefitted from rising early as well.  🙂

Tomorrow, Julian will leave for his first middle school church retreat!  Ready or not, our little ones are spreading their wings.

Leave a Reply

