Kindness

In an effort to encourage kindness within our home, I created this handy system.  We all get a chance to catch each other showing kindness each day, right?  Well, our family is now encouraged to write down these acts of kindness.  No one is to write down their own kindness shown, but note it in others.  Once the jar is full, we will read the cards aloud and reflect on all these wonderful ways of showing kindness.  Then, we will do something fun as a family, such as, have a family game night, watch a family movie together or go out to eat.  I will place the used kindness cards in a simple photo album to keep and we will start again filling our jar.

As a parent, I feel like it is important to continually be redirecting our kids from just thinking of themselves.  It is our human nature to be selfish, I think.  Putting others before ourselves can be hard and just doesn’t always come naturally.  Within my marriage, I have to work towards putting Scott before myself.  It takes work.  As my grandma said near the day of her passing, “It doesn’t take much to be nice to people.”  There is so much wisdom in that.  A little goes a long way with kindness towards others.  I want my children to catch me being kind.  I want them to see the goodness in each other as they work towards being more helpful and thoughtful toward others.  Kindness matters.  Hey, maybe I should make a t-shirt that says that.  🙂

Several days in and we are seeing kindness within our home.

I secretly took a card out to read it.  This is Madelyn’s handwriting.  🙂

“No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.”

Aesop from The Lion and the Mouse

One thought on “Kindness

Leave a Reply

