Carrot Soup

Unknown-1

This week I read Carrot Soup by John Segal to one of our Kindergarten classes.  In response, Scott (the teacher) orchestrated a cooking time within days with me and his students.  We had such a great time peeling, cutting, stirring and eating our carrot soup!  I highly recommend this delicious and kid-approved soup.  Scott typed up the recipe, so I thought I would share it on my blog.

Rabbit’s Favorite Carrot Soup

Peel and shred 2 pounds carrots.

Chop 1 onion and 2 stalks celery.

Sauté onions and celery in ¼ cup margarine (we used Earth Balance); or butter.

Add carrots and 56 oz. (4-14 oz. cans) broth (we used vegetable; or chicken).

Bring to a boil, then simmer for 30 minutes.

Let cool and puree. (We used a cool machine with a little propeller on the end which I borrowed from my wife.)

Add salt and pepper. (The recipe said you could add parsley or dill at this point; we weren’t that adventurous.)

 

Leave a Reply

